Published since 1956, The LBI Year Book, journal of the Leo Baeck Institute, remains at the forefront of the field, publishing the best scholarship on the history and culture of German-speaking Central European Jewry from early modern times to the post-war period. Articles cover the cultural, economic, political, social and religious history, the impact of anti-semitism and the Jewish response to it.


To subscribe to the Year Book please visit our Membership page by clicking here.


To submit a manuscript please visit and follow the links for authors on the right hand side of the screen.


Editorial Board

Cathy S. Gelbin, David Rechter, and Daniel Wildmann

Contributing Editors:
Edward Fram and Lisa Silverman

Editorial Manager:
Almut Becker

Manuscript Editors:
Kat Hall and Anna Kealy

Christine Acosta

Founder Editor:
Robert Weltsch (1956-1978)

Editor Emeritus:
Arnold Paucker (1970-1992)
John A. S. Grenville (1993-2010)
Raphael Gross (2003-2014)

Advisory Board :

Steven E. Aschheim, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Ofer Ashkenazi, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Avraham Barkai, Lehavoth Habashan

Andreas Brämer, Institute for the History of the German Jews
Michael Brenner, Ludwig Maximilians University, American University
Christopher Clark, University of Cambridge
Dan Diner, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Shmuel Feiner, Bar Ilan University

Stefanie Fischer, University of Potsdam
Paul Franks, Yale University
Norbert Frei, Friedrich Schiller University
Evyatar Friesel, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Katja Garloff, Reed College

Mark H. Gelber, Ben Gurion University of the Negev
Abigail Green, University of Oxford
Neil Gregor, University of Southampton
Robin Judd, The Ohio State University
Marion Kaplan, New York University

Judith Keilbach, Utrecht University
Vivian Liska, University of Antwerp, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Paul Mendes-Flohr, University of Chicago, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Michael A. Meyer, Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion
Peter Pulzer, University of Oxford
Brad Prager, University of Missouri

Jehuda Reinharz, Brandeis University
Miriam Ruerup, Institute for the History of the German Jews
Andrea Schatz, King’s College London
Stefanie Schüler-Springorum, TU Berlin
David Sorkin, Yale University
Martina Steer, University of Vienna
Guy Stern, Wayne State University
Bernard Wasserstein, Amsterdam
Yfaat Weiss, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Christian Wiese, Goethe University
Till van Rahden, University of Montreal